Barrow Award

The Metamorphic Studies Group committee introduces a new award, named after George Barrow (1853–1932), geologist with the Geological Survey of Great Britain and the first to assign index minerals to zones of progressive metamorphism, Barrow Zones.

“The Barrow Award will be awarded annually to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to metamorphic studies. Publications, teaching, outreach and other activities leading to the promotion of metamorphic geology, in the broadest sense, will be taken into account in making the award. Nominees do not have to be Members of the Mineralogical Society, Fellows of the Geological Society of London or nationals of Great Britain and Ireland. The award is open to a scientist at any stage of their career (early, mid or late).”

Nominations should include a statement on the merits of the candidate, a summary curriculum vitae and a list of the nominee’s more important contributions. Letters of support may be submitted from up to two additional people.

Nominations will remain on the table for three years. Previous recipients of the award, and members of the MSG Committee (at the time of nomination and adjudication) will not be eligible for the award.

Nominations for the 2020 medal should be sent to the Chair of the Metamorphic Studies Group committee, to arrive not later than 1st December 2019. Submissions should be compiled as a single package in pdf format, to include the nomination statement, CV of the candidate and the optional additional letters of support. The nomination package should be attached to an e-mail with a title which identifies the name of the award and the name of the nominee. The e-mail address to use is

The nominations will be considered and recommendations for the award made by the MSG Committee, unless there is conflict of interest in which case other suitable persons will adjudicate.

Photo from the archive of the British Geological Survey; reproduced with permission.