Clay Minerals Group bursaries

The Clay Minerals Group (CMG) distributes Ordinary CMG Bursaries, the prestigious Mackenzie-MacEwan Award and Workshop Bursaries. The amount of money available in any given year is variable and will be determined by the Treasurer of the CMG in consultation with the Officers of the CMG.

Ordinary CMG Bursaries
Funding is available to assist researchers and postgraduate students to attend and present research on clay minerals (sensu lato) at conferences, workshops and related activities.  Awards are limited to £500 or 50% of costs (whichever is less) and are paid retrospectively.

There are two bursary application deadlines per year; 1st March and 1st September. (Bursary Application Form)

The Mackenzie-MacEwan Award
The prestigious Mackenzie-MacEwan Award is conferred annually to a postgraduate student/early career researcher from those in receipt of an Ordinary CMG Bursary for that year (March to March). The award is for funding to orally present their clay mineral (sensu lato) research at a prominent, international conference (e.g. International Clay Conference, Euroclay, Mid European Clay Conference). In addition, the awardee would also be expected to orally present their research at the following CMG Annual Research in Progress (RiP) meeting, where the award would be presented. The award is an additional £750 and is paid retrospectively.

Workshop Bursaries
The CMG also welcomes bursary applications for short workshops on any aspect of clay mineral science. Funding may be requested to assist with, by way of example, student/researcher travel bursaries, venue and catering costs, etc. Preference will be given to proposals where matched funding has been obtained from other sources.  Funding of up to £2K may be requested and is paid retrospectively. Applications are judged on their scientific merit. Preference will be given to Mineralogical Society Members (student membership is free for the first year) and those actively associated with the CMG. The CMG reserves the right to make no awards.
All applicants for CMG bursaries are encouraged to support the activities of the CMG and the Mineralogical Society. This might include attending and presenting at a CMG/Mineralogical Society event, offering to help convene a session, helping to publicize the CMG/Mineralogical Society, following and contributing to the CMG/Mineralogical Society’s social media channels (Twitter, Facebook), joining the CMG committee or submitting a paper to one of the Society’s journals (Clay Minerals or Mineralogical Magazine).

Ordinary bursary applications should be made by e-mailing the completed Bursary Application Form to the CMG Secretary to include abstract, CV, statement of support from academic/industrial supervisor where appropriate. Applicants are allowed to receive more than one award (but not in the same year) from the Mineralogical Society or its Special Interest Groups (SIG e.g. CMG, AMG etc), but must include details of previous awards in their application.

For Workshop Bursary applications, please send a short proposal (2 sides of A4 max, outlining the proposed workshop, the names of those leading/speaking, envisaged names and numbers of attendees, a full breakdown of costs and details of matched funding).

Ordinary Bursary awards will be decided by a sub-committee of CMG Officers (Chair, Secretary and Treasurer), shortly after each deadline. Workshop bursaries and the Mackenzie-MacEwan Award will be conferred at the discretion of the CMG committee. The CMG Secretary will notify applicants of their success/failure. Successful applicants will be advertised on CMG webpage and Twitter feed.

Following the conference/workshop/related activity, the successful applicant is required to submit:
1. a report (one A4 page including a photograph) to the CMG Secretary for publication on the Mineralogical Society website. Examples are shown here.
2. full receipts to the CMG Treasurer.

Once both a satisfactory report and receipts have been received, payment will then be arranged by the Mineralogical Society Finance and Operation Manager.